Crystal Antlers: Don’t Believe the Hype

Right before Fuck Yeah Fest the amount of talk about Crystal Antlers picked up as certain people listed them in their recommended sets to check out and I didn’t want to discourage anybody right before a big set but now that it’s over I’d like to say that I saw them at The Echo maybe a month ago and it was pretty awful.  There was really just nothing interesting going on (sonically, visually, mentaly etc.) and I was forced to watch their incredibly obnoxious and unnecessary percussionist winding up for his too freequent symbal crashes.  If this is people’s idea of a crazy show or the next big thing out of Los Angeles I am very afraid and maybe what I view as a kind of exile in Dallas isn’t the worst thing for me.  I just had to get that off my chest because I’m sure people are going to start telling me about this band and I really don’t want to hear it.

Leave a Reply

